Leading out of 2012 into 2013

There are sadder things to do than write a leadership blog on New Years Eve but cannot think what they are at the moment. Have wished my parents and my children a HNY, I will tell my wife the same before midnight but this time next week we will have been back in school for one whole day and the holidays will seem like a misty memory. 2013 promises to be another significant year in the world of education as change comes down the fast track to greet us as we try to embed what came our way last year and the year before! As a leader January is always a good time to reflect and think ahead. I am not one for resolutions as I can never think of what to do and when I can I fail miserably. However, as I lead the Cabot Learning Federation in 2013 I am going to try and remember these 3 things that will hopefully help my colleagues to do their best for the children in our care who deserve nothing but the best

1-Saying well done and thank you to people is more motivational and inspiring than telling them what they could have done differently or better

2-Remembering that our staff are also husbands, wives, parents, children, uncles and aunts and have to confront the realities of modern life on top of being outstanding professionals is part of the rich make up of our federation team and unless we give them space to manage these challenges they will be less capable of being the outstanding people that they are and want to be

3-When all is said and done, the only thing that makes a difference to children’s learning is how good the quality is of their teaching and learning experience. This is underpinned by the quality of the relationship they have with the adults in their school, hence numbers 1 and 2 above!

Happy new year to everyone and much love to my wife who thinks I am sad writing this on Dec 31 at 6pm but without her nothing much I do would be worthwhile

2 thoughts on “Leading out of 2012 into 2013

  1. headstmarys

    Very true Dave the most effective thing I have done this term is to say well done and thank you. Especially relevant to me today point two. Sometimes the team need as much care as the kids.

    Is it sadder writing the blog or commenting?

    Hope you and ‘your wife’ have a fantastic new year!

    Dan

    Reply
  2. headstmarys

    Not sure if my comment went in first time so will try again.

    Very true Dave. The most effective thing I have done this term is to say thank you and well done. Making people believe in themselves is a huge part if the battle. Point 2 is particularly relevant to me today. Sometimes the staff need as much care as the kids and have to trust us.

    Not sure if it sadder writing the blog or reading and commenting but I hope you and ‘your wife’ have a fantastic new year.

    Dan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

